James Eliassen, Ph.D. James Eliassen, Ph.D. (left; University of Cincinnati) was installed as the 2010 President of the Ohio Miami Valley Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience at the chapter’s business meeting held January 29 in Cincinnati.  He was elected as President-Elect in 2009.

Chapter members present at the meeting nominated and elected Michael Hennessy, Ph.D. (Wright State University) to be President-Elect and Kim Hagler (Wright State University) to be Secretary-Treasurer for 2010.  Amit Singh, Ph.D., was elected Officer-at-Large for the University of Dayton. An Officer-at-Large for Miami University will be nominated at a later date.

President Eliassen announced that this year’s Neuroscience Day will be held Monday, May 10, at the University of Cincinnati. Rajita Sinha, Ph.D.,  has been invited as keynote speaker. Dr. Sinha is professor of psychiatry and director of the Yale Stress Center at Yale University. More details will follow. Save the date!