The Winter Meeting was held on January 24th, in room 310 of the Kennedy Memorial Union on the University of Dayton campus.  After a welcome from new President  (Dr. Pothitos “Takis” Pitychoutis), we had Scientific presentations from the following:


Regulation of energy metabolism by Apolipoprotein A-IV, a protein linking the gut and the brain

Dr. Haifei Shi, Associate Professor

Department of Biology, Miami University


Olfaction as a Window to Affective Dysfunction in the Schizophrenia Spectrum

Dr. Julie Messinger, Assistant Professor

Department of Psychology, University of Dayton


A non-addictive treatment for chronic pain

Tahir Sulehria, M.D./Ph.D student

Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. Program, Wright State University


Endocannabinoid regulation of stress-escalated drug use

Dr. Jayme McReynolds, Assistant Professor

Department of Pharmacology and Systems Physiology, University of Cincinnati


Dr. Matthew McMurthy (Miami University) gave a professional development talk on

Developing Scientific Outreach Programs for K-12 Populations.  He wanted to remind everyone that the Brain Bee is talking place at the University of Cincinnati on February 1st.


Business Meeting:

Chapter Officers for 2020

Chapter President:             Dr. Pothitos Pitychoutis (University of Dayton)

President Elect:                    Dr. Patrick Sonner  (Wright State University)

Secretary/Treasurer:            Dr. Adrian Corbett (Wright State University

Member at Large:                  Dr. Dawn Blitz (Miami University)

Member at Large:                  Dr. Steve Davidson (University of Cincinnati)

Chapter Website:  The OMV-SfN website has been moved to


Neuroscience Day 2020:  Will be held at the University of Dayton on June 5.  The Keynote Speaker is Dr. Alan Frazer, University of Texas at San Antonio, Chair of Pharmacology, who studies the mechanisms of antidepressant treatments.  We hope to see you all there!